To Top


Formula 2 rookie Maximilian Gunther recorded the fastest time of the Formula 2 pre-season test in Bahrain en route to topping the timesheet on the final day.

Arden International’s Gunther was immediately on the pace as the morning session began, holding the top spot on the timesheet with a 1m43.963s posted within the first 30 minutes.

While day two pace-setter Arjun Maini briefly displaced Gunther, the German swiftly struck back with what proved to be an unbeatable 1m42.756s.

Times in the afternoon were largely slower than those set during the morning with race simulations being prioritised. Gunther’s team-mate Nirei Fukuzumi was the only driver to attempt a performance run in the afternoon, ending up 10th on the overall timesheet.

Louis Deletraz finished second on the overall timesheet, 0.302 seconds adrift of Gunther.

George Russell and Jack Aitken followed in third and fourth for ART Grand Prix, who once again recorded impressive mileage. Russell notched 82 laps – the most completed by a single driver – while Aitken contributed a further 77 laps.

Sergio Sette Camara finished fifth for Carlin while team-mate and McLaren Formula 1 reserve Lando Norris ended a quiet Bahrain test in 12th.

Tadsuke Makino finished sixth, beating team-mate Artem Markelov who finished an anonymous 13th. Maini ended the day seventh for Trident, a full 0.475s slower than his Thursday benchmark.

Luca Ghiotto finished eighth for Campos, with DAMS’ Alexander Albon in ninth.

Nicholas Latifi, who continues to make up for his absence from the first week on account of illness, finished 14th.

It was a curious day for Prema, with day one pace-setter Nyck de Vries in 16th and team-mate Sean Gelael in 19th, as the pair failed to record competitive times during either the morning or afternoon programmes.

The first round of the 2018 F2 season will take place at the Sakhir International Circuit in Bahrain, with the feature race being held April 7 and followed by the reverse grid sprint race the following day.



More in Motorsport

Copyright ©