To Top

Button to race Le Mans Classic at 1988 Group C Jaguar

Jenson Button will participate in this year’s Le Mans Classic in July at the wheel of a 1988 Group C Jaguar XJR9, the race organisers have announced.

The 2009 Formula One world champion will drive the car which won the 1988 Le Mans 24 Hours. Andy Wallace and former F1 drivers Johnny Dumfries and Jan Lammers took the car to victory.

This year marks the 30th anniversary of Jaguar’s win, which ended a seven-year run of victories by Porsche. However the victory was in doubt until the flag fell, as Lammers had to nurse a damaged gearbox by keeping the car in fourth gear for the final laps.

The XJR9 also took Jaguar to the teams’ championship that year and was used by Martin Brundle to win the 1988 Sports-Prototype World Championship for Drivers. The Tony Southgate-designed car is powered by a seven-litre V12 Jaguar engine producing up to 750bhp.

Button has also confirmed his move into Japan’s Super GT series for 2018. He will race a Honda NSX-GT for Team Kunimitsu which he will share with Naoki Yamamoto. The eight-race series begins at the TI Aida circuit in April.



More in Motorsport

Copyright ©