To Top

U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame announces five inductees

The United States Hockey Hall of Fame announced on Monday its five newest members.

The five inductees and their accomplishments:

A Stanley Cup champion with the Pittsburgh Penguins in 1991 and Colorado Avalanche in '96, Young retired in 2006 with 757 points (342 goals, 415 assists) in 1,181 NHL games with seven teams over his 17-year career. 

He also played for the United States in three Winter Olympics and won a gold medal with the United States at the World Cup of Hockey in 1996.

Ron Wilson
Wilson was 648-561-91 with 101 ties as an NHL coach with four teams from 1993-2012. Wilson's teams reached the Stanley Cup Playoffs eight times, won four division titles and the Eastern Conference championship with the Capitals in 1998. 

He also coached the U.S. to the gold medal at the inaugural World Cup of Hockey in 1996 and a silver medal at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics.

Parker, a three-time NCAA Coach of the Year, coached Boston University for 40 seasons before retiring at the end of 2012-13. He won three NCAA titles, qualified for the NCAA Tournament 24 times and won 21 Beanpot championships and seven Hockey East titles with the Terriers.

His 897 wins are an NCAA record for victories at one school and rank third all-time behind Jerry York and Ron Mason.

Ben Smith
Smith coached the U.S. Women's Team at three Winter Olympics, winning the first-ever women's hockey gold medal in 1998, the silver medal in 2002 and the bronze in '06.

Kevin Collins
Collins officiated 1,964 regular-season games and 296 playoff games during his 28-year run as an NHL linesman. He is the third official inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, joining Bill Chadwick (1974) and Hal Trumble (1985).



More in NHL

Copyright ©